Home > Academic Information > English Department

English Department

English Language Department.jpg 

Department Vision

To develop  effective, eloquent and empathetic communicators  

Department Mission

To cultivate understanding, passion and appreciation of English Language and Literature in our students.


Our English Language Curriculum

Our English Language curriculum aims to enable students to:

  • communicate accurately and effectively with reference to purpose, audience, context and culture

  • think, read, and write critically and independently

  • analyse a variety of complex texts in different forms and styles

  • appreciate the nuances of language and how language works in different contexts

  • use language to understand and respond to world issues.


Our English Literature Curriculum

Our English Literature curriculum aims to enable students to:

  • discover the joys of reading Literature and become aware of new ways of perceiving the world around them

  • appreciate the aesthetic value of language

  • engage personally with a variety of text and draw connections between self, texts, and the world in order to develop intellectual, emotional, socio-cultural and global awareness

  • articulate perceptive and analytical thinking when discussing and writing about literary texts.
    

The Team

Mrs Sarah Ng (HOD/English)

sarah_chia_hui_e@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Candy Tham May Fen (SH/English Language)

lee_may_fen_candy@moe.edu.sg

Miss Tan Lai Xiang Tania (SH/English Literature)

tan_lai_xiang_tania@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Tian Cheen Ngee (Senior Teacher)

koh_cheen_ngee@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Carolynn Ng

goh_gao_ru_carolynn@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Chan Lay Choo Theresa

kiong_lay_choo_theresa@moe. edu.sg

Miss Chia Yen Har Junice

chia_yen_har_junice@moe.edu.sg

Ms Claire Cher

cher_lian_mui_claire@moe.edu. sg

Mr Daryl Chew

chew_ren_jie_daryl@moe.edu.sg

Mr Goh Hsien Jun Ian

goh_hsien_jun_ian@moe.edu.sg

Miss Juliana Grahan

juliana_grahan@moe.edu.sg

Mr Kenneth Gwee

kenneth_gwee@moe.edu.sg

Mr Kenneth Mcmorland

kenneth_mcmorland@moe.edu.sg

Miss Lin Lihui

lin_lihui@moe.edu.sg

Mr Marcus Koh

koh_wen_jin_marcus@moe.edu.sg

Ms Michelle Chan

chan_mei_qi@moe.edu.sg

Ms Phua Meow Noi

phua_meow_noi@moe.edu.sg

Ms Punitha Ramanathan

punitha_ramanathan@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Sng Maria

maria_goretti_tang@moe.edu.sg

Ms Tan Angeline

tan_mew_leng@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Uma Jacobs

uma_ramakrishnan@moe.edu.sg

Mr Victor Francis

victor_joseph_francis@moe.edu. sg

Ms Yeo Cynthia

yeo_kim_hua_cynthia@moe.edu.sg

This page was last updated on: Tue,10/01/2017